New members

Membership is open to everyone interested in astronomy. Members are predominantly in Western Australia, but we also have members from other states, territories, and countries. ASWA has a range of facilities to support it members and promote astronomy, including:

  • Tammin Observatory (dark sky site 2 hours drive from Perth)
  • Whiteman Park Observatory (urban observatory)
  • Regular meetings with interesting and informative presentations
  • Regular viewing nights, including lunar, deep sky, and astrocamps
  • Education sessions conveying the wonders of the universe and astronomy
  • The society’s journal, The Sidereal Times
  • Forum and Gallery to share images and information
  • A wide range of telescopes for loan to members
  • Support of community events to promote astronomy

Joining ASWA

If you would like to join ASWA please contact the Membership Secretary or download the membership form here. You can download a copy of the Constitution here. Alternatively, feel free to join us at a regular monthly meeting as a guest. Meeting starts 7 pm at South Perth Bridge Club, Corner of Brittain Street and Barker Avenue, Como WA 6152, Australia on the second Monday of each month (excluding January).

Our membership fees are as follows:

Type of Member Nomination (once only) Subscription (Annual) #,^ Total
Ordinary $40 $70 $110
Associate $25 $50 $75
Junior or Student $25 $40 $65
Type of Member Nomination (once only) Subscription (Annual) #,^ Total
Ordinary $40 $50 $90
Associate $25 $30 $55
Junior or Student $25 $20 $45

* Country/Interstate/International Annual Subscription Fees receive a discount of $20.
# The Sidereal Times journal is delivered (in colour) by email. A $15 per annum additional fee will apply for all types of Membership if the member chooses to receive the journal by post instead of or as well as email (Australia only, black & white only).
^ 20% annual loyalty discount applies to Annual Subscription Fees for members with 20 years continuous membership or more (discount does not apply to the fee for the posted printed Sid Times)

Membership Types


Ordinary members are entitled to full participation in all activities of the Society, to vote, to be elected to office, and to receive the publications of the Society.


When one member of a family is already an Ordinary Member, others of that family who are 18 years of age or older may become Associate Members. They are entitled to the same privileges as Ordinary Members, except for the receipt of publications.


Junior Members shall be under the age of 18. They are entitled to the same privileges as Ordinary Members, except to vote or be eligible to hold office (except as a Section Leader).


Student membership covers a person (18 years of age or older) enrolled full-time in a recognised course of education and not being in full-time employment. They are entitled to the same privileges as Ordinary Members.

Definition of Metropolitan and Country members for payment of subscriptions

All members residing inside the boundary of the Perth Metropolitan Region Planning Scheme are deemed to be Metropolitan Members for subscription purposes.
In addition to the areas well known as Metropolitan addresses the following Local Authority areas are within the above mentioned Scheme Boundary and therefore will be recognised as Metropolitan Areas and payment must be made at Metropolitan Rates:

  • City of Joondalup, City of Wanneroo, Shire of Swan, Shire of Mundaring, Shire of Kalamunda, City of Armadale, Shire of Serpentine/Jarrahdale, City of Rockingham
  • All other places in Western Australia, other states in Australia and other countries will be recognised as Country Areas.